Tinker with Themes

Changing a theme on a WordPress blog is just about as easy as changing your underwear and takes about the same amount of time.

WordPress has an “Appearance” tool on the left hand side bar when you are in editing mode.  In that tool box is a selection for “Themes” and from there you have an ever expanding selection of free themes to choose from.

This is what my blog looked like a few minutes ago.

This is what my blog looked like a few minutes ago.

I switched mine from “Academia” to “Dawn to Dusk” with a few clicks.  I love their preview function.  I also found a menu which allowed me to change from the pre-set, self promoting sub-header to a sub-header that I created.

I also utilized the “Appearance” tool and changed my header as well.  I downloaded Albert Joseph Moore’s Dreamers from Wikimedia Commons, blurred it a bit and cut it in half using the open source image manipulation program – Gimp.  WordPress had an automatic size function that did the rest of the cropping.

This is how it looks now.  I think I like this better.

This is how it looks now. I think I like this better.

Tah-dah!  Day and night difference and it was that easy.

Leave a Reply

